Ashtanga Mysore


Ashtanga yoga is an ancient form of yoga taught by Vamana Rishi in the Yoga Korunta. The Mysore style and method was passed down through the ages to Pattabhi Jois during his studies with Sri T. Krishnamacharya. The main components of Ashtanga yoga, as emphasised by Pattabhi Jois are; Vinyasa, Tristhana and the Six Poisons.

Vinyasa: Refers to the coordination of breath and movement. The purpose of vinyasa is to create heat within the body for internal cleansing of impurities and disease.

Tristhana: The three points of attention and/or action – posture (asana), breathing (puraka and rechaka) and gazing point (dristhi).

  • Asanas strengthen the physical body.
  • Breathing purifies the nervous system.
  • Dristhi promotes focus.

The Six Poisons: There are six poisons that surround the human heart; desire, anger, delusion, greed, envy and sloth. When practiced diligently, the heat from Ashtanga yoga will burn away these poisons

In the Mysore Style of teaching, students are taught the Ashtanga Yoga sequence step by step at their own pace. Students are expected to remember and practice what they have learned from class to class. Class duration is from 45 min – 120 min depending on the level of the student and you can start at anytime during scheduled class. Mysore-style practice is the original method of teaching within the Ashtanga yoga tradition of Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. In a nutshell, it is simply one-on-one instruction within a class setting.

Click on the link to read more about our Intern  Abi’s after thoughts as a beginner for Ashtanga! –

And for more details –


Ready To Try? Purchase Your Starter Pack


Like it? Share it!